Export Navigator

Helping your business access new markets.

What is the Export Navigator Pilot?

The Export Navigator pilot offers businesses access to community-based export specialists who can provide a personalized, step-by-step approach to exporting and help connect your business to the market information, export programs, financial services, and business development experts it needs at every stage of the process.

Who is Eligible?

Small and medium-sized businesses operating in the following six regions:

  • Central & North Vancouver Island (Based in Port Alberni)
  • Central Vancouver Island (Based in Comox)
  • Cariboo (Based in Prince George)
  • North Okanagan (Based in Vernon)
  • Pacific Northwest (Based in Prince Rupert)
  • Kootenay Boundary (Based in Nelson)

For businesses in the Lower Mainland and those outside of the service areas, there are resources to assist you with exporting. For more information please email: Export.Navigator@gov.bc.ca

Export Navigator Services

  • Expert advice and guidance throughout the entire process
  • An export readiness assessment
  • A business needs assessment
  • Market entry strategy support
  • Market tools and information
  • Streamlined service connections to support services

Benefits of Expanding Your Markets

Diversifies Your Customer Base

Expanding to new markets increases the size of your target market, may broaden your product offering and offset seasonal fluctuations in sales.

Increases Profitability

Increased production generally leads to economies of scale and decreased cost per unit, which increases your profit margins.

Fosters Innovation

Expanding to new markets fosters innovation in your goods and services, which enhances your competitiveness.

Questions and Answers

Upcoming Seminars Hosted by Export Navigator

Developing an Effective Export Plan – February 27, 2018

Getting Ready to Sell Your BC Products or Services Online – March 12, 2018

Export Readiness Quiz

  1. Has your company received sales inquiries from outside of B.C.?
  2. Does your company have international business experience?
  3. Is your company’s management willing to dedicate time and money to develop a new market for a sustained period of time?
  4. Is your company willing to conduct market research?
  5. Does your company have excess production capacity or the ability to scale operations?
  6. Does your product or service have a competitive advantage (quality, price, innovation, etc.) over similar products in your target market?
  7. Is your company able to secure financing to adapt, ship, and market your product in your target market?

Contact

For services in your community, please contact

Cariboo Region

Community Futures Fraser-Fort George
Phone: 250-562-9622
Susan Stearns at susans@cfdc.bc.ca
Charles Scott at charless@cfdc.bc.ca

Central Vancouver Island Region

Community Futures Alberni-Clayoquot
Phone: 250-724-1241
Lori Camire at lori.camire@cfac.ca
Darrell Goertzen at darrell@cfac.ca
Kurt Fischer at kurt@cfac.ca

Comox Valley Economic Development Society
Phone: 250-334-2427
John Watson at john@investcomoxvalley.com
Geoff Crawford at geoff@investcomoxvalley.com

Kootenay Boundary Region

Community Futures Central Kootenay
Phone: 250-352-1933
Andrea Wilkey at awilkey@futures.bc.ca
Michael Hoher at mhoher@futures.bc.ca

North Okanagan Region

Community Futures North Okanagan
Phone: 250-545-2215
Kazia Mullin at kaziam@futuresbc.com
Connie Viszlai at conniev@futuresbc.com

Pacific Northwest Region

Community Futures Pacific Northwest
Phone: 250-622-2332
John Farrell at jfarrell@rupertcf.com
Eli Kelly at ekelly@rupertcf.com

Stay Updated

Sign up for Export Navigator updates and be the first to know when our free seminars are available.

The Export Navigator pilot project is a partnership, with support provided by the B.C. Government, the Federal Government, Small Business BC, Community Futures, and the Comox Valley Economic Development Society.